Thursday, 09 Apr 2020

Bangla Version

Prof Dr Sayeba among 20 Ekushey awardees

বঙ্গবন্ধুর জন্মশতবার্ষিকীর ক্ষণগণনা
No icon Good News

Health Desk- 06 Feb, 2020: Prof Dr Sayeba Akhter, the inventor of ‘Sayeba's Method’ will get country’s second highest civilian award, Ekushey Padak, this year, reports UNB.

Besides, nineteen other eminent personalities and an organisation will also get the award in recognition of their contributions to various fields.

The Cultural Affairs Ministry announced the names of the recipients on Wednesday.

Prof Dr Sayeba Akhter was the head of Department of Gynaecology in Dhaka Medical College Hospital (DMCH). She has been providing fistula treatment in a city’s private hospital among the patients. Maternal mortality is one of the giant problem in developing countries. The main cause of this death is bleeding during delivery.

Seventy years back Prof Dr Sayeba Akhter invented the means of stopping bleeding during delivery named ‘Sayeba's Method’.

The method is- just stopping bleeding by pushing catheter with a condom into the uterus and swelling it up. This method is now followed by a huge number of countries across the globe.

The other awardees are as follows-

Aminul Islam Badsha (posthumous) has been selected for his role in the Language Movement.

Begum Dalia Nowshin, Shankar Roy and Mita Haque are being recognised for their contributions to music while Golam Mostafa Khan, SM Mohsin and Prof Dr Farida Zaman for dance, performing arts and fine arts respectively.

Hazi Akhter Sarder (posthumous), Abdul Jabbar (posthumous) and Dr AAM Mesbahul Haque (posthumous) have been chosen for their roles in the Liberation War.

Journalist Zafar Wazed (Ali Wazed Zafar) has been picked for the award for his contribution to journalism and Dr Jahangir Alam, Hafez Qwari Syed Saifur Rahman Nizami Shah and Bangladesh Fisheries Research Institute for their roles in research while Prof Dr Bikiran Prasad Barua for education.

Prof Dr Shamsul Alam and Sufi Mohammad Mizanur Rahman are getting the award for making contributions to economy and social service respectively.

Dr Nurun Nabi, Sikder Aminul Haque (posthumous) and Begum Nazmun Nesa Piari have been selected for language and literature.

Each recipient will get a gold medal, a certificate and a cheque for Tk 2 lakh.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the Ekushey Padak to the awardees at a ceremony at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium on February 20.