Saturday, 21 Apr 2018

Bangla Version

Six journalists get anti-tobacco awards

No icon Good News

Health Desk: May 28, 2017: Six journalists received “Tobacco Control Journalism Award 2017” on Saturday for their anti-tobacco reporting.

Law Minister Anisul Huq handed over the awards, jointly given by Progotir Jonno Gyan (Progga) and Anti Tobacco Media Alliance (ATMA), at a ceremony in the capital's Cirdap auditorium.

The award recipients are Porimol Palma, senior reporter of The Daily Star, in “Print/Online Newspaper (English)” category, Golam Mortuza Jewel of Daily Kirtonkhola in “Local Newspaper” category, Hamid-uz-Zaman Mamum of Jugantor and Md Shafiqul Islam of Bangla Tribune in “Print/Online Newspaper (Bangla)” category, and Sushanta Sinha of Jamuna Television in “Electronic Media” category.

Each of the recipients received Tk 50,000 in prize money, a crest, and a certificate.

In addition, Sadik Evan of received a special award in “Children Journalism” category on special recommendation of the jury board headed by Dhaka University Vice Chancellor Prof AAMS Arefin Siddique.

Speaking at the ceremony, Minister Anisul said, “Tobacco drives people towards drug addiction, and if tobacco cannot be controlled, the country's development will be hampered.”

Rate of tax on smokeless tobacco needs to be same as that on cigarettes, he added.

ABM Zubair, Executive Director of Progga and Mortuza Haider Liton, Convener of ATMA, among others, were present on the occasion.