Saturday, 24 Aug 2019

Bangla Version

21 named for Ekushey Padak 2019

No icon Spot Light

Health Desk- Feb 07, 2019: The government has selected 21 eminent citizens for Ekushey Padak 2019 in recognition of their contributions to their respective fields.

The names of the recipients of the country’s second-highest civilian award was announced on Wednesday.

A press release from the Cultural Affairs Ministry said, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the award to them at a function at Bangabandhu International Conference Centre in the capital on February 20, a day before the International Mother Language Day.

Each of the award-winners will get a gold medal, a certificate and a cheque for Tk 2 lakh.             

Professor Halima Khatun (posthumous), Advocate Golam Arif Tipu and Professor Monwara Islam have been selected for their important roles in the Language Movement.

Imdadul Haq Milan, Rizia Rahman, Ashim Saha, Anwara Syed Haq, Mainul Ahsan Saber and Harishankar Jaladas are getting the award for their valuable contributions to language and literature.

Subir Nandi, Azam Khan (posthumous) and Khairul Anam Shakil are being recognised for their contributions to music while Lucky Enam, Suborna Mustafa and Liaquat Ali Lucky for performing arts.

Sayeda Khanam and Jamal Uddin Ahmed have been chosen for their contributions to photography and fine arts respectively while Khitindra Chandra Baishya is getting the Padak for his role in the Liberation War.

Dr Biswajit Ghosh and Dr Mahbubul Haque have been picked for the award for their research while Dr Pranab Kumar Barua is getting the award for education.

Mentionable, the government introduced the Ekushey Padak in 1976 in memory of the martyrs of the Language Movement.